Classroom Driving Education
You can start classroom at 14 1/2. You cannot take the Knowledge Test (also called the permit test or the written test) until you are 15 so by waiting closer to your 15th birthday, the information will be fresh in your mind.
You will need to bring either full payment or the first payment of the payment plan on the first day of class. Most important, students need to bring a good attitude and a willingness to learn. We provide everything else, including the Minnesota Driver’s Manual, study guides, pencils and all other materials.
No, but Safeway strongly encourages parents or guardians supervising teen drivers to either attend our in-person Parent Class or watch our convenient online sessions. We offer helpful information about new driving laws and how to coach a new driver. Also, attendance at our in-person Parent Class reduces the practice driving required from 50 hours to 40 hours.
That’s okay! We have designed our program around busy kids. Once you begin the session you are registered for, you can attend lessons in any order, on any of the times we offer them. If you want to attend class only on Monday nights, for example, you would eventually be able to take all 10 lessons on Mondays. Our Lesson #10 is a review of all previous lessons so we strongly suggest taking that as your last lesson.
Safeway follows the State’s requirements very closely. We cannot allow students into the classroom more than five minutes late. You cannot leave early from a class. If you need to miss a class for any reason, that’s fine. We have plenty of opportunity for you to make up the class.
Sorry. The Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety determines the rules and doesn’t allow more than three hours of classroom instruction per day.
Absolutely. You can attend any Safeway classroom lesson or any community education lesson, whatever works best for your schedule. Lesson #5 is Lesson #5 is Lesson #5 regardless of the instructor or the classroom. And all instructors can record your attendance in our database and issue a Blue Card when all the lessons are completed. However, if the class is marked “Class Full” on our web site, please do not attend that class.
If you are a registered student in the location you want to make up the class, there will be room for you in the evening classes for make-up lessons. If you are from another location and the class is marked “Class Full,” please find another time or location to attend.
We rarely cancel our classroom instruction. If school is canceled due to a blizzard, then after-school and evening classes at that school will probably also be canceled. We post Weather Alerts on our home page when adverse weather threatens classes, so check our home page or call our office. Even if you can’t make it to a classroom lesson, you can make that lesson up on the next session.
No. You will take your Knowledge Test at one of the State exam centers. At that time, you will also fill out a permit application, have your photo taken and have your vision checked. The cost of the permit is $13.25. We will give you all this information on your last class.
Instruction Permit and Behind-the-Wheel Lessons
Yes. The receipt has an expiration of 60 days. You should receive your hard card, photo permit in the mail before the receipt expires. If you do not receive your Instruction Permit within 60 days, call the telephone number on the back of the receipt. The Instruction Permit is valid for two years.
After you get your hard card, photo permit in the mail, you should register the permit number with us. Click the “Student Login” at the top of our home page, enter you last name, date of birth and home zip code and follow the instructions. We recommend your first behind-the-wheel lesson be taken after you receive your hard-card Instruction Permit and have done 5 hours of practice driving. We encourage you to start driving right away – parking lots first, then advance slowly onto quiet, residential streets. Your first lesson is a very basic driving lesson and will help you as you practice more with your parents.
You will need to practice drive at least 50 hours, 15 at night, documented in a Supervised Driving Log. If your parent attends a Safeway in-person Parent Class, you can reduce your practice hours to 40 hours, 15 at night.
You must practice drive at least 50 hours, 15 at night, and the drives must be documented in a written driving log signed by the parent or guardian. Click here for the State-approved Supervised Driving Log.
Our philosophy is that young drivers need to learn to drive in all driving conditions. Therefore, we do not cancel behind-the-wheel lessons unless the State recommends “no travel.” That situation occurs in blizzard or ice-storm conditions. If we decide to cancel lessons due to poor conditions, we will call as early in the day as possible to reschedule the appointment. In addition, we post Weather Alerts on our home page when adverse weather threatens driving lessons. In general, unless you hear from us, plan to drive on a snowy or rainy day.
Absolutely. We cannot take you on the road without a valid Instruction Permit on you. If you have lost your permit, you should apply for a duplicate permit at any license center. Bring your identification, a parent or guardian and $14.75. You do not need to retake the Permit Test. You cannot use the yellow application that you got when you applied for the permit since it is expired.
Of course! But not until your second lesson. By that time, you will have been driving for about 3 months. The downtown lesson is an important one. It goes over highway driving, one-way intersections and pedestrian safety.
You will have individual lessons with the instructor. If you want to ask questions, that’s a great time to do it. We sometimes do “back-to-back” lessons which means there may be a student in the car when we pick you up. We will drop off that student and you will begin your two hours of driving at that time. This short observation time would last approximately 10 minutes.
All Safeway instructors are tested and fully licensed by the Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety. They have passed FBI and BCA background checks, as well as maintain clean driving records. They are Safeway employees and not subcontractors. The Safeway Driving School cars are all white and have our graphics so you know who is showing up to pick up your son or daughter. If you have any questions or concerns about who the instructor will be to give your child their lesson, please call us.
Yes. If you are an existing student, extra lessons are $95.00 for two hours of instruction. You will need to call our office so we can help you schedule the lessons.
We encourage you to hold your child responsible for good grades and appropriate attitude and behavior. After your child is finished with the last driving lesson, keep the White Card in a secure place until you are ready for them to test.
Road Test and Provisional License
If under 18 years old, you will need to bring your:
- White Card (which you get from us on your third behind-the-wheel lesson);
- Parent Class Certificate of Completion, if applicable;
- Supervised Driving Log;
- Vehicle insurance card; and
- A vehicle eligible for the test. Check your driver’s manual for vehicle requirements.
The cost to apply for the provisional driver’s license is $16.25. A parent or guardian must sign the driver’s license application.
Yes, if you give us enough advance notice. The cost is $95.00 and includes: scheduling your Road Test appointment, pick up at home or schedule, quick parking review, drive to the exam center and use of the car for the test. Call our office if you are interested.
Yes! The State has a Withdrawal of Parental Consent/Voluntary Surrender form to be completed if 1) parents wish to withdraw their consent for drivers under the age of 18 to maintain a license or permit; 2) parents wish to rescind their withdrawal of parental consent; or 3) drivers age 18 or over wish to voluntarily cancel their own driving privileges.